This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Please click here to accept them.cookie information page
More On
Members' login

3rd IIR International Conference on Sustainability and the Cold Chain

In this section:

The UK hosted the 3rd International Institute of Refrigeration International Conference on Sustainability and the Cold Chain on 23rd-25th June 2014 at St Mary's University College, Twickenham, London.

This prestigious conference has attracted over 100 papers from leading international researchers and industrialists with 183 delegates attending on each day. As well as four streams of techncial research papers there were, three key note addresses, four tours, two workshops, IIR Commission and project meetings including FRISBEE

To encourage involvement of future industry leaders a prize was offered for the best papers by students at the conference, sponsored by Sabroe.  The winners were: Rika Kobayashi for her paper on the Effect of supercooled freezing methods on ice structure and Kirkland Rowe for his paper on Numerical analysis of multi-bed activated carbon/methanol adsorption refrigeration system. Runners up were Sunny George Guanpua, Giacomo Bagarella, Adam McConkey/Andrew Poon-King, and Mazyar Karampour.




 Conference Sponsors  





With thanks to the following companies for their assistance:

  for donating student prizes

 for donating datasticks of papers

 for assistance with speaker travel costs

 for donating notebooks


And thanks to all paper reviewers, chairman and conference room assistants








ICCC2014 Logo


International Scientific Committee

Graciela Alvarez, France, Vice President Commission C2; James Carson, New Zealand, President Commission C2; Gérald Cavalier, France, President Section D; Don Cleland, New Zealand; Giovanni Cortella, Italy, President Commission D1; Piotr Domanski, USA; Silvia Estrada-Flores, Australia; Judith Evans, United Kingdom; Kostadin Fikiin, Bulgaria; Laurence Fournaison, France; Jacques Guilpart, France, President Section C; Rafiqul Islam, Australia; Richard Lawton, United Kingdom, President Commission D2; Graeme Maidment, United Kingdom; Bart Nicolaï, Belgium; Petros Taoukis, Greece; Sietze Van der Sluis, Holland; Manabu Watanabe, Japan. 

Organising Committee

Judith Evans of London South Bank University, (Chairman); Paul Arrowsmith; David Bostock of GEA; Manuel Camacho of J&E Hall; Brian Churchyard of ASDA; Robert Kebby, Honeywell; Alban Leiper, Greenfield Energy; Bob Low of Mexichem Fluor; Andy Pearson of Star Refrigeration; Savvas Tassou of Brunel University; 

Conference Secretariat

Lisa Waters, Conference Manager, Institute of Refrigeration UK