This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Please click here to accept them.cookie information page
More On
Members' login
GL2016 Natural Working Fluids Conference

Gustav Lorentzen Natural Working Fluids Conference

In this section:

Sustainability: tomorrow’s challenges and solutions.

Platinum Sponsor

 Gold Sponsor

Gold Sponsor

Lu Ve Logo

Sliver Sponsor 

Bitzer Logo

Sliver SponsorDanfoss Logo

Sliver Sponsor Emerson Climate Technologies logo

 Sliver Sponsor

Yellow jacket logo

The Institute of Refrigeration was proud to host the 12th International Institute of Refrigeration Gustav Lorentzen Conference on Natural Working Fluids. The event took place on the 21st – 24th August 2016 at the Edinburgh International Conference Centre, Heriot Watt University, Edinburgh.

This prestigious conference attracted 147 papers from leading international researchers and industrialists with over 250 delegates, from 31 countries, attending on each day. As well as four streams of technical research papers there were, three key note addresses, three tours, two workshops, three short courses, IIR Commission and project meetings including SuperSmart.

To encourage involvement of future industry leaders Sabroe donated a prize fund for the best papers by students at the conference. Four prizes were awarded:

  • Best student paper on the theme of Sustainability and the winner of the Best Overall Paper by a Student Author was Mazyar Karampour for the paper “Integration of heating and air conditioning into a CO2 trans-critical booster system with parallel compression - Part II: Performance analysis based on field measurements”
  • Best paper by a student author on the theme of Natural Working Fluids was Laura Nebot-Andrés for the paper “Experimental evaluation of a dedicated mechanical subcooling system in a CO2 transcritical refrigeration cycle”
  • Best paper by a student author on the theme of Alternative Cycles was Meng Wang for the paper "Performance prediction of single-effect absorption heat pump cycles using ionic liquids"

 The conference would like to thank

 Our Sponsors

 J&E Hall, Epta, LU-Ve, Bitzer, Danfoss, Emerson, Yellow Jacket, Sabroe and Star Refrigeration.

 The Organising Committee

Andy Pearson, (Chairman), Judith Evans (Assistant Chairman), Marco Buoni, Manuel Camacho, Alexander Cohr-Pachai, Daniel Colbourne, Kevin Glass and Eric Winandy

 The Scientific Committee

Pradeep Bansal, New Zealand, University of Auckland, Vice President of IIR Commission B1, Gerald Cavalier, France, Cemafroid, President of IIR Commission D, Risto Ciconkov, Macedonia, Skopje University, Member of IIR Commissions B2 E2, Alexander Cohr-Pachai, Denmark. Johnson Controls, Guangming Chen, China, Zhejiang University, Member of IIR Commission B1, Don Cleland, New Zealand, Massey University, Honorary Member of IIR Commission C1 & C2, Daniel Colbourne, UK, Re-Phridge, IIR Commission E2, Giovanni Cortella, The University of Udine, Past President of IIR Commission D1, Robert Critoph, UK, University of Warwick, Piotr Domanski USA, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Eckhard Groll, USA, Purdue University, President of IIR Commission B2, Neil Hewitt, UK, Ulster University, Member of IIR Commission B2, Carlos Infante Ferreira, Netherlands, Delft University of Technology, President of IIR Commission B1, Kuniaki Kawamura, Japan, President of IIR Commission D1, Michael Kauffeld, Germany, Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences, President of IIR Commission B2, Lambert Kuijpers, The Netherlands, A/genT Consultancy, Member of IIR Commission B2, Renato Lazzarin, Italy, Padua University, President of IIR Section E, Xianting Li, China, Tsinghua University,  President of IIR Commission E1, Per  Lundquist, Sweden, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Past President of IIR Commission E2, Petter Nekså, Norway, SINTEF, William Murphy, USA, University of Kentucky, Andy Pearson, UK, Star Refrigeration, Member of IIR Commission E1, Reinhard Radermacher, USA, University of Maryland, Honorary Member of IIR Commission B2, Yong-Tae Kang, Korea, Kyung Hee University, President of  IIR Section B, Ruhzu Wang, China, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Vice President of IIR Commission B2, Koichi Watanabe, Japan, Keio University, Honorary Member of IIR Commission B1, Eric Winandy, Belgium, Emerson Climate Technologies

 If you require further details of this event please contact us

Sponsor Conference USB           Sponsor Student Prize