IOR Awards for Individual Achievement

Now calling for nominations 

The IOR promotes individual achievement and innovation in refrigeration, air conditioning, and heat pump applications through a number of annual awards. The awards cover individuals at all stages of their career including students, researchers, authors, innovators, and lifetime achievement.


J&E Hall International Gold Medal for practical contribution to the development of RACHP technology

Download application forms and information including a list of past winners.

This internationally respected award recognises the most noteworthy practical contribution to the technology and science of refrigeration. It can be given to an individual or team with recent outstanding achievements in one or more of the following areas:

  • Practical applications of innovative designs
  • Projects which have made an original contribution to the field
  • Systems that demonstrate substantial potential and evidence that they will be completed successfully
  • Outstanding and significant work in a new or unusual area


Beyond Refrigeration Environmental Award

Download the application form and judging criteria

This latest IOR Award celebrates the work of engineers to lead the way in achieving low carbon low emission cooling. It will be given to a project that demonstrates the achievements of our sector in reducing environmental emissions from cooling in the UK. The introduction of this award supports one of the most important priorities for IOR members – to address the challenges of net zero as well as facilitating the sharing of innovation, raising awareness of best practice and promoting the advancement of technology for the good of society. 


Ted Perry Award for student research 

Download application forms and information including a list of past winners.

This award is designed to encourage and promote research by students related to refrigeration and air conditioning.  It highlights future leading thinkers currently working at Undergraduate or Post Graduate level. The award includes a prize of £1000 and a set of ASHRAE Databooks donated in the memory Ted Perry, Past President of the IOR, by his wife Barbara Perry.  The winner is invited to give a talk to IOR members based on their research.


Kenneth Lightfoot Medal for a paper published by the IOR 

See this year's entries and vote online here

Voted for by the IOR membership, the winner is the individual or team who has presented the best paper to the IOR during the year. The prize includes £500 and a Medal and is supported by Lightfoot Defence in honour of the Past President of the Institute, Kenneth Lightfoot FInstR. 


RACHP Engineering Technician Lifetime Achievement Award

Download application forms and more information including a list of past winners.

The IOR RACHP Engineering Technician Section makes a lifetime achievement award to recognise an individual's commitment to a career in service, maintenance or installation engineering. This award includes a cash prize and invitation to the IOR Annual Dinner. It is sponsored by The ACR Journal.


IOR and RAC Magazine Student of the Year Awards

The IOR and RAC Magazine have partnered on these awards since they were first conceived.  The annual awards identify the top 10 students of the year and select a Gold, Silver and Bronze winner, with prizes presented at the Cooling Industry Awards. Find out more here.



Supporters of the Awards for Individual Achievement

jand e hall logo                    lightfoot crop             ACRJOURANLjpg