IOR Board Trustee and President-Elect Candidates


Later this year the IOR will be holding elections for Board Trustees and the next President-Elect. Voting members will have the opportunity to vote for who they would like to fill these posts.


IOR Trustee nominations - Three nominations have been received and voting members will be able to vote for their preferred candidates to fill the two vacancies in October when full statements from the candidates will also be available. The nominees are:

  • Ian Fisher FInstR
  • Ana Catarina Marques FInstR
  • Clive Thornley MInstR


IOR President-Elect nominations - The IOR Constitution requires that the Board make a recommendation to the members of one or more candidates for President-Elect.   A Nominating Committee consisting of the current Board Members and Past Presidents considered 13 possible candidates against the role specification.  The Board has decided to recommend the following two candidates to the membership from which to select a next President-elect in October:

  • Graeme Fox FInstR
  • John Skelton FInstR

The role of the President-Elect is to support the current IOR President in their role as Chairman of the IOR Board of Trustees until they stand down the following year.  More details about the candidates for President-Elect and the Board are available at

Members may propose additional candidates for President-Elect at any time up until noon on 3rd September and the forms are also on the website.


Online voting opens October - The online voting for the two IOR Trustee vacancies and for the President-Elect post will open in October and will be managed by independent online election specialists mi-voice. Voting Members (i.e. Fellow, Member, Associate and Technician grade) will receive an email with their voting code and a link to the voting website in October.  Detailed statements from all candidates will be clearly displayed on the election site when you log in to cast your vote.    

The results of both elections will be announced on 4th November 2021 at the Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Refrigeration.