Student Prize for Best Papers


The organising committee of the Conference is delighted to announce the winners of awards for the best paper written by a student author presented at the conference. Recordings of presentations and copies of the paper are available in the Conference Bag and Papers areas of this site to registered delegates.

  • Scalability of Chemical Looping Heat Pump Technology Junyoung Kim of Purdue University
  • Semi-empirical Evaluation of HCFO-1224yd(Z) as a Replacement for HFC-245fa in High Temperature Heat Pumps Carlos Mateu-Royo of Universitat Jaume I
  • Gradient Based Design Optimization of a Radial Inflow Turbine Brede Hagen of Norwegian University of Science and Technology 




To be eligible for the Award it is necessary to be a registered student, undergraduate or postgraduate, on the 1st June 2020. The student must be the lead author, the majority of work must be that of the student, though co-authors can be listed if appropriate.

It is also required that the student takes part in the conference and presents the paper.

If the student author does not register for the conference and present the paper it will not be eligible to be considered for the prize. 


Prize Fund and Prize Giving

A winning student paper will be chosen from each of the three conference streams. The lead student author of each paper will receive a prize of £500.00. 

From the three winning papers, an overall winner will be chosen. The overall winner will receive an additional prize of £300.00.  

The winners will be announced and during the opening ceremony of the conference. The judges' decision is final no feedback will be supplied.  


Sponsor of the student prizes


IESIS full logo 16062014 Kelvion logo large 300dpi   PDM