IOR Scotland Apprentice of the Year

2023 WinnerNicky Thomas AOY

1st Place - Nicky Ross of GA Services

2nd Place - Kay Feeny of KB Refrigeration

3rd Place - Scott Fosbury of Polar Air Conditioning 


Award information 

The 1st is award takes the form of a cash payment of £500 kindly sponsored by KB Refrigeration along with a refrigeration textbook and a year’s subscription to the IOR Service Engineers section. In 2023 we also had both 2nd and 3rd place prizes Sponsored by Aspen Pumps Group and Beijer Ref respectively. 2nd and 3rd-place candidates will also receive a year’s student membership to the IOR. The award is made by the assessment committee, which may divide or withhold the award. Although selection will mainly be on the merits of the apprentices, the award will be coupled with the name of their employer. Apprentices must be employed and working in Scotland. They should normally have completed three years’ apprenticeship and have started their 4th year, however, consideration will be given to apprentices who are at an advanced stage of a relevant refrigeration/air conditioning apprenticeship programme.


How to enter

The nomination form will be available for the 2024 award later this year.  



Queries or questions

If you have any queries and questions about entering the IOR Scotland Apprentice of the Year contact Adam Strachan MInstR-



2023 Nicky Ross of GA Services
2022 Lewis Purves of PDC Refrigeration and Air Conditioning
2021 Scott Ballantyne of Albannach Einnseanair ltd 
2019  Declan Wallace of William Whitfield Ltd
2018 Connor Davidson - KB Refrigeration
2017 John Thomson - Turners Dundee
2016 Andrew Richardson - CBES
2015 Scott Thomson - Technical Retail Services Ltd
2014 Jenna Morrow - Mite Technical Facilities Management
2013 Scott Wearing - Trane Ltd
2012 Liam Dean - KB Refrigeration
2011 John Forteith
2010 Nicholas Morris - Star Refrigeration
2009 D. Sutherland - KS Refrigeration
2008 D. McLean - Capital Cooling
2007 R.Summer - Refrigeration (Aberdeen)
2006 John Ritchie - Star Refrigeration
2005 Not Awarded 
2004 C. Dorward - Specific Heat
2003 G. McVittie - Star Refrigeration
2002 G. Cullen - City Technical Services
2001 P. Colvin - Fisher Group (Scotland)
2000 M. Fairley - York Refrigeration
1999 C. Turnbull - KB Refrigeration
1998  S. Hastings - Hussmann Refrigeration
1997 K. Fraser - Star Refrigeration
1996 M. MacRae - Star Refrigeration
1995 R. MacKay - Refrigeration (Aberdeen)
1994 E. Watt - Refrigeration (Aberdeen)
1993 R, Grieve - Star Refrigeration
1992 G. Nelson - Hussmann Refrigeration
1991 A. Balneaves - REA Bott
1990 D. M. H. Fleming - Ryan Refrigeration
1989 C. D. MacDougall - REA Bott
1988 E. Smith - KB Refrigeration
1986 J. Sneddon - Thermal Transfer (Scotland)