RACHP Engineering Technician Lifetime Achievement Awardsesawards2

Download the Nomination Form

Deadline for nomination: 15th November.  

The IOR RACHP Engineering Technicians' Section makes an annual lifetime achievement award to recognise an individual's commitment to a career in service, maintenance or installation engineering. This award prize is kindly donated by the ACR Journal.

The Technician Award celebrates the role of experienced field-based technicians - the mainstay of our industry. The winner receives a prize of £400, an engraved trophy and a certificate, presented by the President of the Institute at the Annual Dinner. 

  • Nominations can be made by employers, clients or colleagues.

  • Candidates can be working in any refrigeration, air conditioning or heat pump role in a field-based service, maintenance or installation role.

  • They must have substantial experience in a technician-level role and still be active in the industry.

  • Shortlisted candidates will be required to take part in a phone interview to discuss their experience.

  • Winners will be invited to attend the Institute of Refrigeration Annual Dinner to collect their award.

  • Download the award criteria and rules
  • Download the nomination form


2023 Winner Terrie1

Terrie Lamb of CiMetrics

Terrie started his career in duct work before moving into the RACHP sector. He has gone on to achieve a Level 3 NVQ and his Engineering Council EngTech registration. He has demonstrated a passion for the RACHP industry with not only impressive continued professional development, but also by proactively passing his extensive knowledge on to apprentices. His enthusiasm for sharing knowledge, mentoring younger engineers and his determination to help fill the skills gap is clear to see.  He is also active in supporting the industry outside of his job commitments as Vice Chair of CIBSE HSCE Region. 

Previous Winners

  • 2022 Andrew Christie of J&E Hall Cardiff
  • 2021 John Broughton of Danfoss and Andy Murrell of Star Refrigeration
  • 2020 Kevin Gregory of Kinlochs and Son
  • 2019 Paul Gardner, JPS Refrigeration 
  • 2018 Joseph Birch, SJJ System Services
  • 2017 Keith Simmons, Flowrite Services
  • 2016 Grayme Selkirk, Tesco and Martyn Ross, J&E Hall
  • 2015 Roy Dearden, Kool-it Services
  • 2014 Ian Sullivan, Ian Sullivan Air Conditioning 
  • 2013 John Webb, J&E Hall 
  • 2012 John Bond, Space Engineering
  • 2011 Keith Gorman, Coldtech Refrigeration
  • 2010 Charlie Darling, Adcock Refrigeration and Air Conditioning 
  • 2009 David Wright, MacWhirter 
  • 2008 Robert Taylor, Star Refrigeration
  • 2007 Alan Stoll, Star Refrigeration
  • 2006 David Luker
  • 2005 George Hayes, Star Refrigeration 
  • 2004 Ron Filer, Bitzer Uk
  • 2003 Keith Lukehurst, York Refrigeration 
  • 2002 Les Collett